Books · Happenings

CHILDHOOD BOOK TAG

I follow this amazing blog called A Touch of Everything and she had a post called the Childhood Book Tag; which I absolutely loved and apparently someone first had to nominate you to write it and the writer graciously said anyone reading the post can give it a go. So, here I am! initially I had book review lined up, but I will post that later on now.

1. First book you remember reading on your own? 

The first book that I probably read on my own would be something from the series of Adventures of Mary Kate and Ashley and Full house Michelle probably. I am not sure, but something from those two series is my best guess.

2. First book you remember your parents reading to you?

Well my parents weren’t the type that read to their children per say; but they nevertheless supported readily wholeheartedly and my mum is an avid reader herself accept she likes to read books in Urdu so that was a minor setback. Other than that my eldest sister probably read to me The Ugly Duckling once.

3.Books you read because of your parents? Because of a friend?

My best friend suggested and lent me this book called Hush hush by Becca Fitzpatrick, a book about fallen angels. I totally loved it and since then proceeded to own and have read the entire saga.

4. Favourite book from school?

We read A Little Princess in school in grade 7. I fell in love with the book to be honest, and since we were reading a rather abridged version I went to the nearest bookstore and got the classic novel to read it in its whole glory.

5. Favourite book in Elementary?

As the blog I saw this post explained Elementary = Primary School; I would say Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl and I had just started to discover the magical world of Harry Potter.

6. In Middle School?

Harry Potter took the cake I guess. The magical world took me by storm with it. Other than those I too went through a supernatural phase, The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith, The Vampire Academy by Rachelle Mead, The Fallen Series by Lauren Kate. I ate these books like candy.

7. In High School?

In high school, I started focusing on different genres other than Fantasy and the supernatural. I came across Lord of the Rings a bit late but it is never to late to read a good book in my opinion. Khaled Hosseni’s The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, Forty Rules of Love by Elif Shafaq, The case of the exploding mangoes by Mohammad Hanif, The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Moshin Hamid, The Book Thief by Markus Zukas . I could go on and on, about all the great pieces I discovered in my four years of high school.

8. Book you gave up on as a kid and that you’d like to revisit?

More like a series instead of the book itself, I read the Inheritance series’s first book Eragon long time back and after that call it circumstance or negligence on my behalf but never continued to finish the series. But fear not, I have the rest of books with me and they are sitting next in my ‘to be read’ pile.

9. Books you checked out from the Library the most as a kid?

Famous five, definitely that series. I never really visited the library a lot after I found out that we have to return them (queue the gasp).

10. Book you made all your friends read?

I have probably made all my friends and even my aunt read A Thousand Splendid Suns by the brilliant Khaled Hosseni. Honestly if you haven’t read it, give it a try it pulls all the right heartstrings and makes one weep with the characters. Just brilliant.

11. The book that made you love reading?

Is is this even a question? I think more than half of my generation who loves to read owe it to the magical world of Harry Potter created by the one and only J.K. Rowling.

12. Favourite Middle Grade read?

I think i already mentioned A little Princess in a previous question, but other than that book we had read the Great Expectations in middle school/grade? It was a very intense book and I loved it.

13. Favourite young adult read?

My sister’s keeper by Jodi Picoult and probably The book of Tomorrow by Cecelia Ahern. Basically anything by these two i can read and many others.

14. First long series you read as a kid?

I don’t exactly want to put up The adventures of Mary Kate and Ashley and Sweet Valley High, so I will simply say the Harry Potter Series.

15. How did you learn to read? How old were you?

I learned how to read in my Kindergarten, or what some call it preparatory school that is done before primary initially. So about 5 to 6 years approx.? It has been so long!

16. How obsessed were you with book fairs as a kid?

Obsessed doesn’t even describe it, I loved book fairs and still do. I used to drag my father to each one if I knew about those and never returned empty handed, and ever since the Karachi Literature Festival started few years back, it has been a dream meeting some of the local emerging writers from Pakistan and the amazing discounts available there.

 

8 thoughts on “CHILDHOOD BOOK TAG

  1. Love this post ! I might steal the idea myself.
    I remember reading Sweet Valley High and the Famous Five so well. HP is forever love.
    I almost fell off the chair laughing at the ‘you didn’t know you had to give the books back to the library’. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As much as I love to read books, I love collecting them too. My mum calls me a book hoarder. I have around 200 books in my shelf currently, and I keep buying more with my mum threatening to give away my precious collection!
      I will be looking forward to reading your version of this post, do give it a try!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Life & Times

Leave a Reply

