Books

Gone Girl – Book Review

Synopsis 

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer?

Thoughts

This book honestly took me some time to finish, maybe it was just me (anyone else?) but it did. It wasn’t bad, mind you it was a good work of fiction and made quite a few red flags stand in my head (I’m a psychology student and may major in clinical) and that is what I think was the driving force that led me to finish this book.

The book starts off with Nick Dunne, the husband admiring his wife’s skull shape. This is something I can’t seem to get out of my mind, which just made me stop for a while if I am completely honest.

The book had two point of views, one of Amy Elliot Dunne and the other of Nick Dunne. The first part of the book was very dry, like scrape your brain against the cheese grater dry. Amy’s POV was certainly interesting, but I honestly wanted to shake the dude. As I kept reading, I certainly saw a lot of red flags (maybe it’s just me) and I declared Amy a mad woman from the get go; because who starts their diary entries like that? Then again I don’t maintain a diary, so maybe people do.

I really tried to like Nick and Amy, and to a certain point I think I did. The diary Amy was too sickly sweet for me, and there were so many Amy(ies?) that it was hard for me to keep up. But I found the Ozark Amy to be the most interesting of the lot. Nick Dunne was just a guy who made some really bad decisions, and that is an understatement.

If I am to sum the book up in a few random words: Crazy, psychotic, bad decisions; and if I may add an expression: ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

I really wanted a different end, I really did. But if two people as messed up as they were totally deserve each other; on a side note, why was the whole town so horrible to Nick? Yes all the evidence pointed to him, yes he looked like a **** and yes to many other things but come on, they were just blowing the whole thing out of proportion.

What else made me wonder was that Amy’s parents were psychologists and they didn’t realize that their daughter was seriously messed up? The Elliots, in my opinion all three of them were the crazy psychologist family.

But all the negativity aside, the plot was really good despite the crazy protagonist/antagonist? If I am completely honest, it was a very interesting read despite my frustrations for the main characters.The way Amy played it all out, she deserves an Oscar and needs to tied up in those body restraining suits and put in an room.

On a side note, I also saw the movie and the book surprising played out pretty well on screen. Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike did a brilliant job on selling the characters.

Some favourite quotes:

“There’s a difference between really loving someone and loving the idea of her.”

“Tampon commercial, detergent commercial, maxi pad commercial, windex commercial – you’d think all women do is clean and bleed.”

“It’s a very difficult era in which to be a person, just a real, actual person, instead of a collection of personality traits selected from an endless Automat of characters.”

5 thoughts on “Gone Girl – Book Review

  1. Heyy! Nice post! By the way, I wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the creative and versatile blogger awards. Please feel free to ignore if you’ve already done these awards. Have an amazing day ahead. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

