Books

Red Queen – Book Review.

Synopsis

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers.red queen And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.

Author: Victoria Aveyard.

Thoughts

When I bought this book, I was very excited to read it. Why? Well the synopsis as you can read above sounded good, and I hadn’t read a dystopian novel in a long time so I decided to give it a chance. I had a few other dystopians lying around on my shelf and yet I chose to read this one.

I love a good dystopian fiction like any other reader out there, but I was very disappointed in this. All throughout the book, the one thought I had was: I have read this somewhere else too.  It felt a little too familiar, and the main character and not to mention the other characters seemed a bit silly.

It reminded me of the Hunger Games trilogy, but it didn’t do what Hunger Games did for me; i.e. make me want to eat the book up and quickly buy the next part and read that too. Mare, for me was silly little girl. Some might agree and some might not on this but she was. With her “OMG nobody loves me” complex to “I will save the Reds from this cruel fate” to “I’m so helpless” phases made me want to slap her.

So Mare, had a boy from back home who she grew up with (just like Katniss did; read Gale) but where I saw Kale/Gatniss in Hunger Games; I only saw two very stupid kids (i.e. Mare and Kilorn). What I mean by that is, there was literally no chemistry between the two characters.

I totally saw Mare being given a job after meeting that mysterious handsome stranger and might I add even though the author tried building up the romance in her own way between the two characters as the story developed it was just not doing it. I got that Cal (the mysterious handsome I mentioned) was the enemy’s son but so was Maven. I didn’t like the Maven person from the moment he was introduced. I think, the author was confused between building a love triangle in there or not and therefore there wasn’t any chemistry between those three as well.

As for the rebellious Scarlet Guard, they had a purpose sure but a bit more information to their formation, purpose and basically everything would had been appreciated. The book was just jumping ahead without setting the background properly, there were too many descriptions that felt unnecessary and what I found strange was that, one moment she is telling that old man who is teaching her lessons that she can’t read and then after a few paragraphs she was able to read the letter sent to her?

Mare was so conflicted about killing the Silvers, I wanted to scream at her: Make up your mind woman! It would had been much better if the scenario itself presented a way to kill the enemy in battle or self defense but picking out targets…

Mare made a terrible heroine. Her thoughts were scattered all over the place, didn’t exactly learn from her mistakes, was selfish and never took a minute to stop and think about her actions.

I wouldn’t recommend this book and I’m not even going to bother finishing the trilogy.

1 out 5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Red Queen – Book Review.

  1. Mare really irritated me too, and I completely agree with you about the romance – there was just no chemistry between anyone in that love triangle/square!! There were aspects of the book I enjoyed, but I could have done without the romantic subplot altogether. And probably would have enjoyed the whole book a lot more if it had a different protagonist haha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

