Books

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Book Review

DISCLAIMER: This review may contain spoilers! So please read at your own risk, DO NOT say I did not warn you beforehand.

Synopsis

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Thoughts

I was very excited when I first bought this, I think all Harry Potter fans were. We were going to read about the kids and see our heroes in a different setting.

The script/play format put me off a bit, but I still read on like a dedicated fan but I was sort of disappointed. The trio didn’t even sound like themselves. Throughout the book, I had one thought where are the other children? James and Lily are only mentioned and play minimal roles in the entire story, which is weird as the book spans across several years.

What I really liked was Scorpius, he was such a gem. I liked him better than Albus, if I am being honest here. He was like a male version of Hermoine; especially when Albus asks a question, and both Hermoine and Scorpius reply the same thing, and Ron goes: there is bloody two of them! Draco, I must say what a character development. But this Draco reminded me of a fanfiction I had read on Wattpad named Draconian. I would had also loved it if Teddy or Victorie would had been at least mentioned, but it seemed like they didn’t exist at all.

The book appearance wise is really pretty, and looks like a nice long read but it’s hardly a days read as it is in the format of a play. I expected so much more from this book and it didn’t fill me with the same sense of satisfaction reading any other Harry Potter book can still give till date. The book is more of a fanfiction, if not more. It could had been better if it were in a proper book format and for a script they did over charge the readers and played with our sentiments in the process.

 

2.5 stars out 5; Scorpius was the reason I kept reading.

 

8 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Book Review

  1. It’s interesting to see other people’s thoughts on this, I feel as if it’s a mix between good and bad across the whole fandom. I actually thought it was really good personally.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was so excited when I started to read this book. I have read half of it and I’m like, this book might just ruin Harry Potter series! But I’m not going to say anything more about this book rn since I have read only half of it. 😦 This is not the way JK Rowling writes..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

